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Fact Sheet

Maryland State Directory of New Hires  


This fact sheet provides the basic information for employers regarding new hire reporting.



What is New Hire Reporting? 
Under Maryland Statute and the Federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), all Maryland employers are required to report all newly hired employees to the New Hire Registry within 20 days of the hire date.  Failure to report a new employee could result in a fine. 

The Maryland State Directory of New Hires provides employers with several efficient and convenient ways to report newly hired employees.  Customer service staff is available from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm (EST) Monday-Friday to answer questions or provide technical assistance.

Why is New Hire Reporting Important?  

Employers play a pivotal role in helping Maryland’s children receive the support they need.  Those who don’t receive financial support often depend on public assistance or live in poverty.  By meeting the requirements of the new hire reporting law, you will help children get the support they need.  In addition, new hire information is also used to detect and prevent unemployment insurance overpayments and worker’s compensation fraud.

How Often Should I Report?
Employers must report new hire information within 20 calendar days of the employee’s first work day or date of rehire.

· If reporting manually, you must report within 20 days of the employee’s hire date.

· If reporting electronically, you must report any new hires, or re-hires, every 12 to 16 days.

How Do I Report New Hires?
You will need to gather:

· Employer Federal Identification Number (FEIN)

· Employer State of Maryland Unemployment Insurance Number (SUIN)

· Employer Name and Address

· Employee Social Security Number (SSN)

· Employee Name and Address

· Employee Hire Date

· Employee Availability of Medical Benefits

· Employee Salary and Pay Frequency

· Employee Date of Birth*

· Employee Gender*

*optional under the new hire law, but recommended

New Hire reports submitted to the Directory without the required information will be returned to the employer.

To create the report, you can use:

· Internet reporting at www.mdnewhire.com

· Microsoft Excel (new version) in electronic format.  If interested, contact the Maryland State Directory of New Hires)

· Electronic reports via cartridge or diskette

· Electronic file transfer

· W-4 Form (including company name, address and FEIN)

· A computer print-out or other list of employees

· New Hire Reporting Form

· Report via telephone

Submit the Report.  Employers may report online over the Internet, electronic file, fax, mail or phone.  When faxing reports, please do not send a cover sheet.  Your payroll service can also report your new hires for your company.

Contact Information
Maryland State Directory of New Hires easy-to-use Web site allows you to establish a secure account and password exclusively for your company.  Simply logon as an employer, enter the employee data, and receive a confirmation that your data has been accepted.

Web Site: http://www.mdnewhire.com/
Mailing Address:  If you are mailing new hire reports, please use the following address:

Maryland State Directory of New Hires

P.O. Box 1316

Baltimore, MD 21203-1316

Telephone Number:  To speak with a customer service representative, or to receive technical assistance, contact the Maryland State Directory of New Hires at:

410-281-6000 (local) or 1-888-634-4737 (toll free) 1-888-MDHIRES

Fax Number:  You can fax new hire information to Maryland State Directory of New Hires local or toll free fax number:

410-281-6004 (local) or 1-888-657-3534 (toll free) 

SUIN Number

If an employer calls asking about the SUIN or Employer ID Number have them call (410) 767-2414 or out of state (800) 492-5524. If they are unsure whether or not they need an SUIN please inform that any employer who pays employees for services performed needs an SUIN. An SUIN may also be called an Unemployment Insurance Employer Account Number

