Welcome to the 

Department of Human Resources

Child Support Enforcement 

Frequently Asked Questions for Employers

The Department of Human Resources, Child Support has collected Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) for Employers who are seeking to comply with the requirements of the Maryland New Hires Program.  This document was created to provide responses to questions Employers may have about the Program.  

This document is set up so that it may be reviewed from top to bottom in its entirety or if there is a particular question for which an answer is needed, just hit the control key and click on the question to be directed to the answer.  

If there are questions that are not responded to, Employers may contact Deborah Chandler Jackson, Program Manager for the New Hires Program at dchandle@dhr.state.md.us.  
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I. General Information 

Employers play a critical role in helping Maryland’s children receive their court-ordered child support and health care insurance. The following facts and statistics confirm the importance of child support in the lives of children: 

• Approximately 85 percent of child support collected comes from employers; 

• Approximately half of all children spend time in a single-parent home;

• Children supported by both parents are three times less likely to become teen parents and two times less likely to drop out of school, to engage in alcohol or substance abuse, or to become involved in the criminal justice system; 

• Immediate savings for the taxpayer are realized as families become less reliant on public assistance (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families [TANF], food stamps and Medicaid); and 

• The program is very cost-effective. In fiscal year 2007, for every dollar spent, the program collected $6.38 for families. 

Federal law mandates that each state create a centralized state disbursement unit to collect and distribute child support payments (42 United States Code [USC], 654b). Maryland law (COMAR 07.07.07.01) was enacted to provide authority for the State Disbursement Unit (SDU) to fulfill this federal requirement. The SDU is operated under a contract monitored by of the Department of Human Services, Child Support Enforcement Administration (DHR/CSEA). 

The SDU receives, processes and disburses over $400 million annually and distributes over 90 percent of the money received within 48 hours.  The rest is held as required by law or to identify the recipient's address. 

This information package answers questions that employers are likely to ask about employer responsibilities under Maryland and federal law. The information package will also answer questions about an employer’s responsibility to enroll children in health insurance. 

II. New Hire Reporting 

Federal legislation (42 USC 653a) requires employers to report information on newly hired or rehired employees to the Directory of New Hires for the state in which the employee works.

Additional information regarding New Hire Reporting can be found on the New Hire Website at http://www.mdnewhire.com/
 Employers must report: 

	Required Employee Information
	Required Employer Information

	Employee's full name
(Please identify first, middle, and last name.)
	Employer's name (please use corporate name)

	Employee's address
	Employer's address (please provide address where Income Withholding Orders should be sent)

	Employee's Social Security Number
	Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). If you have more than one FEIN, please make certain you use the same FEIN you use to report your quarterly wage information when reporting new hires.

	Employee's first day of work
	Employer's State of Maryland Unemployment Insurance Number (SUI)

	Employee's availability of medical benefits
	 

	Employee's salary and pay frequency
	 

	Optional Employee Information
	Optional Employer Information

	Employee Date of Birth
	Employer phone #

	Employee Gender
	Employer Fax #

	 
	Employer email address

	 
	Employer Contact Name


Child support agencies use new hire information reported by employers to help locate parents, establish orders, or enforce existing orders.

Timely new hire reporting: 

• Triggers the issuance of an Income Withholding for Support hereafter referred to as the IWO. The IWO is the primary way child support is collected for distribution. It is a key factor in reducing or preventing an arrearage of child support owed by the employee. Collection of child support through the IWO may also reduce a custodial party’s need for cash assistance; and

• Allows each state to cross-match new hire data against its active workers’ compensation and unemployment insurance claimant files. In some cases, this leads to either stopping payments or recovering erroneous payments. States have saved millions of dollars in erroneous unemployment insurance payments because of these cross-matches; 

In Maryland, the State Directory of New Hires is operated under a contract monitored by the DHR/CSEA. The State Directory of New Hires provides general information, FAQs, and reporting documents, and allows online reporting capability. For more information, or questions, contact: 

Maryland New Hire Registry

P.O. Box 1316

Baltimore, MD  21203-1316

 http://newhire-reporting.com/MD-Newhire/default.aspx
Phone (410) 281-6000 or Fax (888) 634-4737

(Email contact information is available on the Maryland New Hires Registry Web site.) 

Federal new hire reporting information is available on the following Web site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cse/newhire/employer/private/newhire.htm. 

III. Income Withholding 

General Income Withholding Information 

Federal and state laws require income withholdings for court-ordered child and spousal support obligations.  An IWO may be issued to a source of income (i.e., employer) from a child support agency, an individual, a private collection agency or an attorney. 

In Maryland, IWO’s are usually issued by the Maryland Child Support Enforcement System (CSES) for the Child Support Enforcement Administration (CSEA) that is charged with enforcing the support order. Maryland child support IWO’s generally fall into two categories: 

Title IV-D Cases

The term “IV-D” comes from the federal law that created the child support enforcement program; it is Title IV-D of the Social Security Act (42 USC 651 et seq).  An application has been filed for services to be provided by the Maryland Child Support Enforcement Administration in these cases.  In most cases, a fee is paid for CSEA to represent customers to enforce orders and collect child support.  About 95 percent of cases in Maryland are IV-D cases. 

CSES will automatically issue IWO’s to employers in accordance with support orders for employees who owe current and/or past-due child support within two working days after locating a new source of income (employer), such as when new hire information is processed by State Directory of  New Hires. 

Non-IV-D Cases 

This category refers to all child support cases that are not enforced but payments are collected and disbursed.  Depending upon the preference of the parties involved, the parties may agree to use IWO’s for collection of child support. 

Employer Responsibilities

The IWO provides the employer with an amount to withhold as well as direction and requirements for submitting payment. Employer responsibilities regarding IV-D IWO’s include, but are not limited to: 

• Complying with an IWO within seven days of receiving the notice (Code of Maryland Regulations (C.O.M.A.R.) 07.07.19.06.A (2)); 

• Deducting the requested child support amount from the employee’s pay; 

• Using the Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) withholding limitations if the requested amount of child support withholding is not allowed, given the amount of pay the employee is receiving (C.O.M.A.R. 07.07.19.04); 

• Submitting the deducted child support amount to the SDU within seven days of the date of withholding (C.O.M.A.R. 07.07.19.04); and,

• Notifying the issuing Child Support Enforcement Administration (CSEA) within 10 days that the employee no longer works for the employer (C.O.M.A.R. 07.07.19.16).  
The IWO remains in effect until the employer is provided with a new or terminated IWO from CSEA. 

Unless otherwise noted on the IWO in special circumstances, all IV-D cases and most non-IV-D cases in Maryland will direct the employer to remit payments to the SDU at: 

Maryland Child Support Account
P.O. Box 17396
Baltimore, Maryland 21297-1396

Checks should be made payable to the Maryland Child Support Account.  Employers may send one payment for all employees’ support withholdings to the SDU.  However, the amount withheld for each income withholding must be specified and included with the payment.  The SDU will receipt payments for cases based on the information provided by employers.  The SDU is not able to receipt payments for multiple cases if the individual details for each case are not provided.  Please see Income Withholding Notice Frequently Asked Question #12 for what information needs to be submitted with each support payment withheld.

Employers are encouraged to use ExpertPay at www.expertpay.com, which includes FAQ's and walks employers through EFT set up which is free to employers remitting to the State of Maryland. If employers use their bank, these transactions will incur bank charges.  Employers may call 443-957-2680 for information regarding EFT requirements.

IV. Income Withholding Notice Frequently Asked Questions 

1.  How will employers be informed that withholding child support from an employee's income must begin? 

Employers will receive the IWO (OMB 0970-0154) as described in Section III of this Job Aid. 

Employers must retain IWO(s) for all employees, even after they leave employment and even if the employer notifies the issuer of the IWO that the employee is no longer employed. If the employee returns, the employer must re-enact the IWO(s) and comply with any additional IWO(s) that the CSEA may send. 

The third page of the IWO provides a “Notification of Termination of Employment” section for the employer’s use. For additional employer information and requirements, please read the IWO and its instructions. 

2.  The employer would rather not get involved in withholding for child support or insurance premiums.  Can an employer terminate or refuse to hire individuals who have withholding against their income? 

No.  The employer commits an unlawful employment practice if an employee is discharged, refuses to hire, or in any other manner discriminates, retaliates or takes disciplinary action against an employee because of the entry of or service of an order to withhold or because of the obligations the IWO imposes on the employer (§10.128 and §10.129 of the Family Law Article)

3.  How long after an IWO is received does the withholding from an employee's income begin, and when does the payment have to be sent?

The employer is to begin withholding for child support within seven days after you receive the notice. This withholding amount must be sent to the address on the IWO within seven working days after the date of each withholding. Failure to withhold the correct amount and remit each payment within the seven working days can result in legal action being taken.). 

4.  What happens if the employer does not honor the IWO for support? 

If income is not withheld for child support and/or insurance premiums as specified in the IWO and/or NMSN, the employer may be liable for the full amount of support, as payments accumulate from the mailing date of the notice. The employer may also be held in contempt of court, which may result in a fine or a judgment against the employer (10.129 C (2) of the Family Law Article). 

5. How does the employer know when to stop the withholding?

The withholding remains in effect until the employer is notified in writing by the CSEA.  The employer may not stop the withholding merely because the employee has asked the employer to do so, or because the employer calculations indicate the arrears are paid.  Failure to withhold may result in the employer’s liability for the payments not withheld.  If the employee’s employment is discontinued or interrupted for a period of 14 or more days, the employer must notify the CSEA office within 10 days of the interruption.  If the employee returns to work, the employer must reinstate the withholding unless otherwise notified in writing by the issuer of the IWO.  The employer is also required to report the employee as a new hire if (s)he returns to work (COMAR 10.134).

6. Can an employer charge a fee to the employee for the withholding process to cover administrative costs? 

Maryland law allows an employer to deduct and retain an additional $2 for each deduction made under the IWO. (COMAR 07.07.19.06 (B)).

7.  Where does the employer send the child support that is withheld from an employee's wages? 

Send a check to: 

Maryland Child Support Account
P.O. Box 17396
Baltimore, Maryland 21297-1396

Make the check payable to:  Maryland Child Support Account.


Please see Income Withholding Notice Frequently Asked Question #12 for what information needs to be submitted with each support payment withheld.

Methods for making electronic payments are available. For more information, employers may call 443-957-2680. 

8.  If an employee terminates employment and is later rehired, does the employer still honor the old IWO or does the employer wait until a new IWO is received? 

IWO’s are continuous until a termination notice is received from the CSEA. If an employee returns to work, the employer must begin deducting child support as required by the previously received IWO. Employers are also required to report the employee as a new hire if (s)he returns to work. (§10.128(b) of the Family Law Article)

9.  Does child support take priority over other income withholdings? 

Yes.  Child support withholdings take priority over any other legal process carried out under state law against the same wages.  This means that child support must be withheld from disposable income before deductions for other withholding orders are taken, even if the other withholding orders were served first.  The only exception is if a federal tax levy is received before the IWO (26 USC 6402[c]).  (§10.128(b) of the Family Law Article)

10.  What happens when the employee leaves employment?

The employer must notify the CSEA or the provider of the IWO in writing within 10 days if the termination of employment.  The employer must provide the CSEA or the provider of the IWO with the employee’s name, date of separation, case identifier, last-known home address, and the name and address of the employee’s new employer, if known.  The employer must also provide information regarding medical insurance upon an employee’s termination of employment. 

11.  What happens when the employee files for bankruptcy? 

The employer must keep deducting child support until the CSEA office that initiated the income withholding contacts you. Some chapters of bankruptcy include an automatic stay on an income withholding, while some allow continuance of the withholding for current support, and others continue both current support and arrears withholding. The employer may advise the employee to contact the CSEA office that initiated the income withholding. 

12.  What information needs to be submitted with employee support payments to the SDU? 

You must include the following information with each support payment withheld and sent to the SDU: 

• Employee name; 

• Employee SSN (format: 999-99-9999); 

• Maryland court order number 

• IV-D case number (for each income withholding); 

• Date withheld; 

• Amount withheld; and 

• Your FEIN (format: 99-9999999). 

Failure to provide all of the necessary identifying information could result in the payment being returned or marked as unidentified. 

You may send withheld payments to the SDU electronically or by check.   Methods for making electronic payments are available. For more information, employers may call 443-957-2680 and receive the savings and efficiencies that this payment method provides. 

Mail checks to:

Maryland Child Support Account
P.O. Box 17396
Baltimore, Maryland 21297-1396

Make the check payable to the Maryland Child Support Account.  

Please see Income Withholding Notice Frequently Asked Question #12 for what information needs to be submitted with each support payment withheld.

13.  Can support payments be submitted electronically?

Yes.  If paying by check, employers are encouraged to convert to electronic payments.  This method can reduce costs and staff time.  Please call 443-957-2680 for assistance. 

Payments can be sent electronically in the following ways: 

• From your bank account to the SDU bank account.  Call the 443-957-2680 for assistance in setting this up. 

• Over the Internet. Go to ExpertPay at http://www.expertpay.com./ to register.  If additional assistance is needed, please call the SDU at the phone number above. 

14.  What if the employer's pay periods are not the same frequency as the order? 

The IWO divides the withholding into monthly, semi-monthly, bi-weekly and weekly amounts.  Withhold the appropriate amount indicated on the IWO corresponding to your method of payroll for your pay period so that the total withheld during the month will total the monthly amount due. You must forward payments to the address on the IWO within seven working days after the date of withholding. 

15.  Can all the withholdings made in one pay period for all employees and send one check? 

Yes. You can combine all payments going to the SDU into one check. The withholdings must include the following information for each income withholding order for each employee (this information will ensure that payments are not delayed): 

• Employee name; 

• Employee SSN (format: 999-99-9999); 

• Maryland court order number; 

• IV-D case number (for each income withholding); 

• Date withheld; 

• Amount withheld; and 

• Employer FEIN (format: 99-9999999). 

16.  Is there any limit to the amount that can be withheld from each paycheck?  If so, how is that amount calculated? 

Yes. The total amount allowed to be withheld from any employee’s paycheck is limited by the CCPA even if the employee has more than one withholding (15 USC 1673(b) and COMAR 07.07.19.04 D). The limits provided in the CCPA are from 50 to 65 percent of the employee’s disposable earnings. If the IWO withholding amount for the IWO(s) is less than 50 percent of the employee’s disposable earnings, submit the amount specified on the IWO. However, if the IWO’s total withholding amount exceeds 50 percent of the employee’s disposable income, there are guidelines that must be followed to determine the amount to be withheld and sent. To correctly figure the withholding amount, you must follow these steps: 

1. Determine the correct percentage of income to be withheld. For child support income withholdings, a maximum of 65 percent of the employee’s disposable earnings may be taken: 

• 65 percent – If the employee is not supporting other dependents and the child support arrearage is more than 12 weeks old; 

• 60 percent – If the employee is not supporting other dependents and the child support arrearage is less than 12 weeks old; 

• 55 percent – If the employee is supporting other dependents and the child support arrearage is more than 12 weeks old; or 

• 50 percent – If the employee is supporting other dependents and the child support arrearage is less than 12 weeks old. 

2. Determine the disposable earnings for the pay period, even if the employee has worked only part-time.

3. Calculate the maximum amount of the disposable earnings subject to withholding by multiplying the disposable earnings from Step 2 by the applicable percentage from Step 1. 

4. The amount calculated in Step 3 is the maximum support amount that can be withheld.  If this calculated amount is less than the total amount specified on the IWO, this entire calculated amount is sent to the address provided on the IWO as the child support withheld. If this calculated amount is more than the total amount specified on the IWO, withhold the amount provided on the IWO. 

Note: If you have received a NMSN(s) for the employee to provide insurance for dependents, the IWO withholding amount and the cost of that health insurance enrollment (i.e., premiums) must not exceed the CCPA limit. 

If you are unsure of the correct percentage to use, contact 443-957-2680. 

17.  How is the amount to be withheld calculated if the employee has more than one income withholding? 

If the employee has more than one income withholding, you must use the following formula to determine how much of the total withholding to send for each income withholding: 

1. Calculate the maximum support amount that can be withheld (see Question 18, steps 1-3). 

2. Sum the current withholding amounts across all income withholdings; 

3. Sum the arrears withholding amounts across all income withholdings; and 

4. Locate the maximum amount of withholding allowed by each order for medical insurance, if provided on the NMSN. 

The amount of support is prorated among the income withholdings according to the amount due in each priority level. 

Current Support:

• If the employee has sufficient income (once the CCPA limitation has been determined) to cover all of the current withholding amounts, deductions are made for current support for all families. 

• If the income is not sufficient to cover all of the current support due, the employer must prorate the current support across all IWO’s: 

· Sum the current withholding amounts for all IWO’s, calculating the total current withholding amount due; 

· Divide the current withholding amount due in each order by the total current withholding amount due to determine each IWO’s percentage share; and 

· Multiply the percentage share for each IWO by the CCPA limit to determine what portion of the CCPA is withheld for each IWO. 

Example: The employee has three IWO’s: 

IWO 1 = $300 current support, $200 in arrears, per month.  IWO also indicates that arrears are more than 12 weeks. 

IWO 2 = $150 current support, $0 in arrears, per month. 

IWO 3 = $200 current support, $150 in arrears, per month.  IWO also indicates that arrears are more than 12 weeks. 

Total = $650 current support, $350 in arrears, per month. 

The employee only makes $1,000 in disposable income.  Because the total amount of child support is higher than 50 percent of $1,000 ($650 + $350 = $1000), the employer is held to the CCPA limitation. This employee is supporting more than one family, and arrears are in excess of 12 weeks of support, so the CCPA limitation for this employee is 55 percent, or $550. 

The total amount of current support is $650 and the employer is only able to deduct $550.  Therefore, the employer must determine the percentage of current support that each IWO has: 

IWO 1 = $300 / $650 = 46% 

IWO 2 = $150 / $650 = 23% 

IWO 3 = $200 / $650 = 31% 

The employer must then multiply the amount of available income to each IWO to determine how much each IWO will receive: 

IWO 1 = 46% x $550 = $253 

IWO 2 = 23% x $550 = $126.50 

IWO 3 = 31% x $550 = $170.50 

This is the amount of income that must be submitted to the SDU for each of the IWO’s for current support. 

Arrears: 
• If the employee has disposable income available after all the current support is paid and the income is sufficient to cover all arrears, and then withhold all arrears requested. 

• If the disposable income remaining after all current support is paid is not sufficient to cover arrears withholdings, prorate among the families in the same fashion as for current monthly support, but using the arrears withholding amounts instead of the current withholding amounts. 

Health Insurance Premiums 

• If the employee has disposable income available after all current support and arrears are withheld, and if the cost for medical insurance does not exceed any amount specified on the NMSN, withhold for medical insurance. 

• If the employee does not have enough disposable income available after all current support and arrears are withheld to withhold medical insurance costs, or if the cost for medical insurance exceeds the amount specified on the NMSN, then the CCPA limit has been met and medical insurance may not be withheld. 

18. How is money that the employee puts in a tax-deferred plan handled? 

You must first subtract the tax-deferred amount before calculating the amount of taxes to be paid, and then add the tax-deferred amount back into the income before calculating the maximum amount of child support to be deducted.  Child support must be satisfied before any deferment. 

19.  What if an employee wants to make voluntary payments for child support after the order/notice to withhold income for support has been received? 

The employee needs to direct this request to the CSEA office on the IWO.  If the order/notice was not sent by the CSEA office, the employee must contact the provider of the IWO. 

The employer must comply with the IWO and begin withholding within seven days of receipt.  The IWO will remain in effect until the employer receives further documentation from the issuing party. 

20.  What if the employee says that the amount deducted is wrong? 

Instruct the employee to contact the CSEA office or provider on the IWO. 

You must comply with the IWO and begin withholding within seven days of receipt. The IWO will remain in effect until you receive further documentation from the issuing party. 

21.  Does the employer have to tell the employee when an IWO is received? 

The State of Maryland sends a copy of the IWO to the employee   the same time the IWO is sent to you.  However, you may need to provide a copy to the employee if the designated field is checked. 

22. The name of the form used to withhold child support has been changed to Income Withholding For Support.  Is this the same form as the IWO (Income Withholding Notice), IWO (Income Withholding Order), and Order/Notice To Withhold Income For Child Support? 

The federally recognized withholding form: Income Withholding for Support and that is the form Maryland uses.  This form used to be called the Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support. On Web sites and in other material, you may see the terms “EWO,” “IWO,” “order,” and “notice.” These terms are all used interchangeably to refer to the single form Income Withholding for Support. In its material, Maryland usually uses the actual name of the form or the term “IWO.” Previous versions or other state’s notices are still valid if they have the number OMB 0970-0154.

23.    What should you do if you discover that you need to submit a stop payment    on a child support check?  

You should immediately call customer service at 1-800-332-6347 or visit your local Child Support office.

